Mar 01, 2021  
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog 
2011-2012 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]


Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments and Programs

The Leavy Family Chair (2000) was established by Edward C. Leavy ‘51, to endow a faculty position within the Department of Chemistry at Saint Michael’s College. In October 2004, John Van Houten was appointed as the first Leavy Family Professor.


Chair: Associate Professor William Karstens
Professor: John Van Houten
Associate Professors: Alayne Schroll, Bret Findley
Assistant Professors: Shane Lamos, Christina Chant
Visiting Instructor: Marque Moffett 
Lab Coordinator/Instructor: Jennifer Paone-Vogt

The Department of Chemistry offers programs to meet the needs of students whose primary interest is chemistry, and who intend to pursue graduate or professional studies or enter directly into industry or secondary school teaching. With an appropriate choice of electives, the chemistry major can be the foundation for a career in medicine, dentistry, allied health sciences, law, or the business world. This program is certified by the American Chemical Society. Students who wish to receive an ACS-certified degree will need to complete an approved research experience in addition to the courses required for the major.  This experience can consist of an eight-week summer project at Saint Michael’s College or an off-campus site, or an approved two-semester research project for college credit.

The major in chemistry should be chosen only by students who have a good aptitude for the physical sciences and mathematics.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments and Programs