Feb 28, 2021  
2009-2010 Undergraduate Catalog 
2009-2010 Undergraduate Catalog [Archived Catalog]

Fine Arts

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments and Programs

The McCarthy Arts Fund, established by college benefactors Michael and Margaret McCarthy, provides annual support for the Fine Arts Department.


Chair: Professor Susan Summerfield
Professors: Paul LeClair, Amy Werbel
Associate Professors: Gregg Blasdel, John Devlin, Peter Harrigan, Catherine Hurst, Nathaniel Lew, Will Mentor
Distinguished Visiting Professor: Terryl Kinder

Fine arts are important manifestations of the intellectual growth of the educated person. The liberal arts program at Saint Michael’s College recognizes that all students should be aware of the significance of artistic media against a background of history and literature. Therefore, the department offers majors and minors in several disciplines and is part of the liberal studies requirement of the College.

The Fine Arts Department houses the disciplines of fine and performing arts: art, dance, theatre, music, and speech communication. With a faculty of academics who are professional, producing artists in each of these areas, the department provides a broad-based understanding of the practice, the literature, and the theory of each discipline.

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Departments and Programs